Since I resigned from my job last November, my perception of a calendar time has been a blur. Like the concept of space, our concept of time has a lot to do with our current state of mind and affairs. Since I have removed myself from the office doldrums and am currently doing freelance work, I rarely feel the compulsion to check which day of the week it is. And so one recent afternoon I almost forgot it was close to New Year’s had I not gone out to a coffee shop.

On my way back home my mind played a few snapshots of my younger days concerning the New Year celebration. I was taken back to my primary and secondary school life when my teachers would require us to write an essay about our New Year’s resolutions on the first day of school after the two-week Christmas break. My unseasoned, adolescent mind was uber optimistic then. As the years wore on, it became a very boring writing assignment precisely because I was disillusioned with myself and with goal-setting.

The most common New Year’s Resolutions I would hear from my friends come in the form of “I aim to lose weight/I aim to eat right this year” or “I aim to get better grades next school year”.  I find it ridiculous that I would only want to think of losing weight in the next year when I can start selecting the right healthy food at this moment. Proper goal-setting is a continuous decision, not a one-off. How did I know? Of course, I was once a dawdler.

Aren’t we all made up of moments? That moment that tells us NOW is the only presence we must immerse in. The perception that there is a past and future is only a result of being in a third-dimensional platform such as Earth’s. (READ MORE…)

