1875588892_1358697961

There are three points I need to point out before I start on my little review of the inspiring movie Life of Pi.

Before you proceed, please be warned that this article contains spoilers. Do not read if you haven’t watched the movie nor read the book.

I was able to watch Life of Pi last Friday night. I would have to say that I am writing as someone who has watched the movie and haven’t read the book, not the other way around. Now that I have seen the movie I will check out the book for sure.

Thirdly, my penchant for Bollywood movies largely influences how I see the movie adaptation of Life of Pi so I might be a bit biased. Oh, and also my Vedic chart tells my animal symbol is a Tiger, which gives away my animal reflection as pointed out in the book/movie.

I did not have any idea what Life of Pi was all about when I first watched its movie trailer last year. Even after watching the movie trailer in a number of movies I went to see, I was adamant I wanted to be totally surprised.

So it was unexpected for me to see that the movie tackled thought-provoking issues we continually are faced with regarding religion and our own beliefs. When we were little we didn’t really have much choice when it comes to religion. We assume the religion handed down to us by our family by virtue of being born in that family. As we get older our free will gets more profound as we either follow the same religion or choose a different spiritual path which is more suited to our temperament. The Indian boy Pi was exposed to Hinduism, Christianity and Islam and his innocuous mind made him follow one religion ritual after another. It was amusingly innocently charming.

As a human being like all of us, he expressed a yearning for a meaning in his life during his teens. There was a girl he liked but due to his father’s decision to find a greener pasture, he had to reluctantly say goodbye. It was during their trip to Canada via a Japanese-owned ship that changed Pi’s life forever.

I am amazed at his courage, unwavering faith and positive attitude amidst the death of his family, loss, and being stranded with a fierce carnivorous tiger with whom he has to learn to co-exist if he were to survive another day.

How does one ever co-exist with a creature one fears and come out alive on top of it all? The safe answer I could say is that they saw and reflected themselves in each other. When you are faced in a situation where you have to co-exist with fear, you discover different facets of yourself. Some scenes tugged at my heart and I still get teary-eyed every time I recall them. I am sure I would cry even more if I read the book.

I would recommend you watch this movie if you haven’t. It is worth 127 minutes of your life. Not to mention the visuals were spectacular and I wished I had watched it in 3D.

