I used to have ambivalent feelings towards writing. With work responsibilities in the past I began to associate writing with painful words like deadlines and empty brain. I resented getting a writing assignment from my supervisors but of course I wasn’t that stupid to risk unemployment by openly expressing my dislike for it.

thereisnothingtowriting

Every time I thought of writing, I would groan and think I was running out of ideas. More often than not the writing assignments I received dealt with topics I had nil interest in, so it was more of a torture. However, I learned to be flexible as I could always research on a topic online and most of the time I did copywriting anyway.

In spite of that I created a blog in the past and I liked writing because in the first place I love to read. I just didn’t like the pressure of deadlines. I also hated the thought of writing assignments because I was more of an introspective person – I could be more descriptive and more productive if I write about my intuition, my feelings and my dreams. I believe being subjective isn’t always a bad thing, words carry power and the talent of being creative with constructing sentences to form a meaningful article is an art.k I was running out of ideas. More often than not the writing assignments I received dealt with topics I had nil interest in, so it was more of a torture. However, I learned to be flexible as I could always research on a topic online and most of the time I did copywriting anyway.

I love to devour information. The only downside of my brain processing information too quickly is most of the thoughts fly away before I can get a pen or type at a laptop or on my iPhone notepad. In fact I even hate it when I’m in the middle of writing and I suddenly get a call from dear full gall bladder. Between the trip to the bathroom and back to my table, I try so hard to retain what I was going to write next by concentrating on it so I can go back to being coherent.

I had a few small writing jobs late last year, yet again I resented subjecting myself to topics I had no interest in. There were simple topics but I also felt like I was having a boyfriend just for the sake of not being single. I do value being true to myself; I had to let go of that writing job because my own resentment would kill me and I don’t want to bring any more bad karma, to my employer and to myself.

I am glad there are sites that pay per views/visits. I am also glad Blogger and WordPress exist. I can express myself freely and not worry about deadlines. The only deadlines I need to worry about are the ones I impose on myself.

