photo (8)Because I had talked about hypnosis in my two previous articles, I could not help but write about an online product that has an element of hypnosis as well. I am talking about Andrew Johnson’s relaxing Deep Sleep App. I can’t remember from which web site I had first clicked on or heard about the Deep Sleep mp3. However, I do recall that I had a bit of insomnia because of chronic stress from work in my previous job.

The Deep Sleep App normally costs $2.99 on iTunes but I was able to download it for free as part of a promo they had. I follow Andrew Johnson on Twitter and had read good reviews about the app from those who had tried it so as usual I was curious to try it out.

It was really intense the first time I listened to the 30-minute mp3. Andrew Johnson’s voice was soothing and his Scottish accent made me relax and drift off to sleep quickly. You’ll be able to drift off t o sleep in less than 15 minutes because listening to it is really hypnotic.

However after drifting off for a while I became aware that I was asleep and dreaming – I was having lucid dreams. It’s not like I never had lucid dreams before, it was just that the images I saw in my dreams were not the normal stuff of my tamed previous lucid dreams. I experimented listening to the mp3 two more times, each time always before going to bed and I would have drift off to sleep and then later be awakened by a set of lucid dreams. I know I should only listen to it at night but I wanted to see if listening to it during an afternoon nap would have the same effect. Same effect still during the afternoon nap.

The disturbing lucid dreams may have been my unconscious signalling the stress at work I was experiencing. I’m not sure but there are a lot of factors at work. I do know that the Omega 3 supplements which I started taking a few weeks after that helped return my sleep pattern to normal.

