IMG_6505

It’s so pathetic of me to be advised by Google that my “password was changed 10 days ago”. I have been getting that reminder in red for 10 days. It would jolt me out of a state resembling a narcoleptic lethargy. So foolish of me to forget a recently changed password but short term memory recall is so persistent.

I had to change my GMail account password because two weeks ago some kind of virus sent a spam link to 14 contacts in my list, including my other two GMail accounts. I ignored it and didn’t know how serious it was until a few days after when I received this notification from Google:

Someone recently tried to use an application to sign in to your Google Account -******@gmail.com. We prevented the sign-in attempt in case this was a hijacker trying to access your account. Please review the details of the sign-in attempt:

Tuesday, February 12, 2013 6:06:08 PM UTC
IP Address: 166.137.120.68
Location: Alvarado, TX, USA

One thing I noticed is that only my three GMail accounts received that spam link. I don’t know any entity from Alvarado, TX. I didn’t want to risk getting my account compromised again by some third party application so I had to change my password. Yet every day I try to log in via a laptop, my fingers would automatically type the old password. I thought that I kept forgetting it because it was so entirely different from the old one. I attempted a second password modification by appending 3 new characters to the old password but 45 hours after my stubborn fingers were at it again.

Google comes to the rescue by alerting me with another verification feature via a mobile phone verification code.

IMG_6506

I hope the above image will be the first and last verification from Google I will encounter this year.

