Writing Tools

Image source:  Blog.Hubspot.Com

What is your Achilles heel in writing? In an article I wrote last month (Ambivalence Towards Writing), I included a quote from Ernest Hemingway which somehow describes the irony of writing and how it can be easy and difficult.

“There is nothing to writing. All you do is sit down at a typewriter and bleed.”

After one month and fifty articles here, I have noticed a pattern with the level of difficulty I’ve encountered when tackling various topics. Some articles took longer for me to write while some took less than an hour for me to finish, that is, if I don’t count the minutes I spent on editing or making a collage of the images I attached to some.

Although a picture is worth a thousand words, it doesn’t always equate to creative flow in writing once we start to squeeze out from our brains those thousand words. On the other hand, I could get a quick insight and put it on my to-do list. Two or three days after I could still come up with a satisfactorily descriptive post. From my self-observation, my Achilles heel in writing has to do with food-related topics. I remember spending three to four hours in writing “Have Your Cake and Eat It Too” much to my dismay. Distraction took away my productivity because I just wasn’t good at writing about food.

It’s not that I don’t know what I would write about. It’s just that we find the flow easier with some topics compared to others. Since my mind has an analytical bent, I find my flow easily when writing about technology and app reviews. Not that I cannot write on tackling emotionally-laden topics, in fact I can and if I do it would run the whole gamut of reasons behind the emotions.

Do you know what is your Achilles heel in writing? Examining what topics we are not good at is a useful way to assess ourselves.

