I updated Google Chrome and Dropbox apps on my iPhone from the App Store yesterday. But I didn’t even feel the newer versions helped simplify my user experience at all because I’ve noticed a few problems right away after the upgrade.

I prefer to use Google Chrome than other browsers and my sister has configured it as a default web browser on her laptop. But when I use my iPhone for submitting posts or editing images to be attached, I use Safari but once in a while I check if the Google Chrome app is up to par.

Lately viewing Bubblews notifications on Safari makes me antsy. What I usually do is click on each notification and open them in a new tab and stop until I reach 8 as that is the limit of the open tabs allowed in Safari. I then scroll down on the notifications tab to only show those notifications I haven’t clicked but every time I leave it to read the other tab, the page auto-refreshes and I’m left feeling a bit lost and don’t know which among those hundreds of notifications should I pick up where I left off. On these confusing occasions I would give Google Chrome a shot to see if the page I left auto-refreshes once I get back to it.

The buggy Google Chrome iPhone update doesn’t even let me find out if my theory is right. Bubblews hardly opens in Chrome for a longer period before I see that “This webpage is not available”. I can’t exactly pinpoint – yet – why a Google Chrome app would be weaker. But maybe it’s just my WiFi or the website acting up because of maintenance. Though, seriously, does every occasion I test it has to coincide with the WiFi or website not working well? Too much of a coincidence I would say.

IMG_6672

The Dropbox app hasn’t been cooperating well with another app, iZip Pro. I have written about transferring files from the iPhone (without syncing it to iTunes) to the laptop using iZip Pro and Dropbox as an alternative for RedGage photo upload. You can read it here in full: http://www.bubblews.com/news/168654-alternative-solution-to-redgage-photo-upload-problem-using-iphone. Basically I select the files on iZip Pro and zip them. After zipping them I would open them in Dropbox and click on Save.

photo 2 (1)

But when I click on Save, it directs me to a black blank page. It doesn’t let me know if the zip file has completely loaded onto Dropbox.

photo 4

With errors leaving me in the dark I would try to repeat the upload of the zip file, only to be prompted whether or not to overwrite the existing file.

photo 3

Of course I hit Cancel and later find out when opening the downloaded zip file from Dropbox on a laptop that “the archive is either in unknown format or damaged”.

wrongzip

I hope new Google Chrome and Dropbox updates on the App Store should be up soon.

