LR

This is the reason why I like GMail a lot – it has an intelligent spam filtering system. Despite that, I still check my Spam folder just in case some of my important e-mails were redirected to that folder by mistake. Last night I found one phishing e-mail legitimately disguised to look like it’s coming from Liberty Reserve.

If you have ever received the same kind of e-mail and it landed in your main inbox, never click on that link. I’m glad GMail never gave me reason to debate myself on the e-mail’s credibility by giving me the warning message which goes like this:

“Be careful with this message. It contains a suspicious link that was used to steal people’s personal information. Unless you trust the sender, don’t click links or reply with personal information. Learn more.”

I have to give mad props for the creator of this phishing e-mail. Assuming themselves as Liberty Reserve and subtly convincing registered members that their account will be suspended if they do not click through the suspicious link for the Liberty Reserve Terms of Service Update is utterly brilliant. If only they would redirect their energies towards something more productive than simple black hat methods.

