Image source: farm4.static.flickr.com/3289/2523395608_550fdf972b_m.jpg

Chocolates and pan roasted garlic peanuts or adobong mani in Filipino has been two of my favorite snacks. I remember buying adobong mani from a local street vendor across our house during my elementary school years and it’s no secret every kid loves chocolates. I don’t know what had transpired post-puberty. I began to notice a marked change in my skin a day after I would eat pan roasted garlic peanuts – I was having acne breakouts. Dreadful.

I could randomly attribute it to hormonal change but it could also have been the dietary changes and eating habits that had drastically impaired my hormonal balance. I had avoided eating peanuts and chocolates for some time and I would eat it sparingly. Eventually I realized trying to completely eliminate it from my system was not what aggravated my acne problems as there were still other factors that triggered my acne.

1702895813_1363242717

From time to time I would experiment which of the two would easily cause me breakouts. Yes, I do love being my own guinea pig. The end result was consistent for me – deep fried garlic peanuts would cause breakouts more than chocolates do, though I prefer dark chocolates mostly. There’s no noticeable change on my skin when I’m on chocolate binge as opposed to eating just a small amount of peanuts.

It may or may not be the same for others but it is good to take note of these small observations. I still love eating peanuts but I habitually take a week-long or sometimes month-long breaks before I could eat them again. Although I have taken small measures to control my acne breakouts (perhaps one of these days I might write about it), I still believe we are what we eat and it’s taken me a long time to accept that. Nevertheless balance is the key.

