128995761_1363960487

For the story preceding this article, click HERE.

I stayed a fine two years in Malaysia per my work contract requirement. It’s funny and interesting how I was not able to visit most tourist spots any resident expat normally could in a span of two years. Within that period I had gone to the US for a business trip and to Taiwan for a short company trip but ironically had never gone to Batu Caves, Genting, Kota Kinabalu, Langkawi, Melacca or other states within Malaysia.

Throughout my stay there I never forgot that the whole point I was working in Malaysia was to be able to find work in Canada, a stepping stone to fly to another country as I had previously planned when I wished to go to Singapore.

One of my housemates was a French-and-Arabic-speaking Algerian who also did not foresee getting into the same company as he came into Malaysia under a student visa. He encouraged my goal to fly to Canada but I hesitated because I felt not being a skilled worker would hurt my chances to try.

During my last year stay, I would frequently notice billboards displaying Air Asia flight discounts to cities in Australia. Coincidentally I also saw the movie, Australia, that year. However, I could barely get my free schedule to coincide with my friends’. Read: I didn’t like traveling alone. That same year I had reconnected with one of my best friends, Christine, who I had totally forgotten had been working in Sydney since 2007.

Maybe I was fated to visit there instead of flying to Canada. I hardly had any problems nor delays in applying for a tourist visa to Australia and had spent 7 weeks observing and trying to immerse myself in their way of life.

Looking back, I don’t think being put in Singapore would have given me the same string of profitable opportunities in work and travel. Things would have run an entirely different course. As the lyrics of John Lennon’s Beautiful Boy (Darling Boy) says, “Life is what happens to you while you’re busy making other plans.”

