My indefatigable curiosity can sometimes be as ruthless as I will my mouse clicks, or in my case, touch clicks, to be. I was browsing the News Feed on Facebook and first stumbled upon My Modern Met’s update on a beautiful public display of symmetrical plastic roses in Zweibrücken, Germany (www.mymodernmet.com/profiles/blogs/ottmar-horl-1000-roses-for-zweibrucken-2012).

1499380342_1364268620

Because it reminded me of how the Rosicrucian Order was founded by a German who came to be known under a symbolic name, Christian Rosenkreutz (Christ + Rose Cross – go figure), I had tagged a few friends of mine and eventually came to a Google search result on a book by Rudolf Steiner titled, The Mission of Christian Rosenkreutz.

1785284927_1364268620

Image credit: The Mission of Christian Rosenkreutz

I have one of Steiner’s books literally gathering dust on top of a closet. I could not find the motivation to finish browsing Esoteric Christianity, much less start a decent reading from the first few pages. Since it was from a series of public lectures by Steiner, I guess it’s that format that puts me off. Either that or treatises on theosophy may be too coarse for my brain to digest. There’s a difference between being able to intuitively understand abstract concepts first as a Gestalt whole and being able to understand the words and texts so that our own intuitive understanding of the subject may be illuminated.

I downloaded the PDF copy online for The Mission of Christian Rosenkreutz. It’s more or less 70 pages. Wish me luck!

