20130328-110109.jpg

Yesterday we had a new addition to the family – my cousin who used to live with us gave birth to an adorable baby boy at midnight. It’s interesting how my cousin had bugged me for the name of the baby for four months but I had only come up with it two days ago, right when we got wind of the message that she was already taken to the hospital.

Because letters in a name correspond to a specific vibration or energy as stated in the teachings of Pythagorean Numerology and Kabbalah, I am not one to suggest a name just because it is popular. Another good book on practical esoteric sciences, Seven Hermetic Letters by Dr. Georg Lomer also did not underestimate the role of picking a name for a newborn. Dr. Lomer wrote it is important to consider picking a name that helps fulfill the requirement of having all the 5 vowels present in a full name.

In some Western countries, a middle name can be a supplementary name to the first name. However, it’s a different case in the Philippines – by default we assume the mother’s maiden name as our middle name. Having already accounted for the three vowels from the maiden name and last name, I had told my cousin she only needs to pick a name that has the letter I and U in it.

I had slept late, around 2 a.m., two days ago when I decided to search for a list of first names under I and U. None under U felt intuitively right but the I included Immanuel in the list, a variation of Emmanuel (“God is with us”), and for some strange reason it felt suitable and it did fit the bill.

It was a coincidence to know the day after, the day my cousin finally gave birth, that the birth date when added together resulted in one digit, 7, which meant the newborn’s Life Path number is 7. 7 has always been considered to be a spiritual and thus a very intuitive number. I should know, I am living a Life Path 7 myself.

All the events leading up to picking the final name at the eleventh hour made me realize that Immanuel was hardly a random choice at all. Maybe the new soul wanted to be named exactly that.

