A few days ago my mother asked me the title to an upbeat song that’s been playing intermittently on her favorite noontime show. I answered her, “It’s Treasure by Bruno Mars.” I commented she probably likes the song because it reminds her of the Jackson Five. I bought the track on iTunes back in December 2012 and only heard it being played on local television shows 3 or 4 months after.

483450_10151300635078713_57835498_n

Today amidst a potentially busy day I found the time to watch a few videos on YouTube. I looked up Bruno Mars’ Treasure, from his album Unorthodox Jukebox, and excitedly clicked on the video link. Not many tracks of an album make it to the final list of singles to be promoted and business executives do not underestimate track promotion via music videos posted on YouTube.

I was even more entertained after seeing the whole music video. It definitely was a throwback or salute to the Jackson Five era. I feel some Earth, Wind and Fire camaraderie there, too. It’s one of those music videos with a concept very much suited to the song, that is if Treasure had been penned first before the music video was conceptualized, which I presume is the usual chronology of album promotion. Anyone who listened to the song first and seen the video second could consistently feel the Jackson Five tribute. The video is what you would normally come to expect from the song and it isn’t difficult to see that the two, the single and its accompanying video, complement each other. Bruno Mars gives us 70s nostalgia of two Jackson​s​ videos, Rock With You and Blame It On The Boogie​, with the afro hairstyle and the disco hustle. ​

Towards 1:40 of the Treasure music video, Bruno Mars’ and his band mates showcase their moves on a pentacle dance floor. Couldn’t help but notice it. I don’t know if the producers are subconsciously following a trend in infusing so-called Illuminati symbols in music videos. I could list only few for now (Lady Gaga, Katy Perry etc) but check out Ke$ha’s Die Young here to know what I’m talking about.

I’ve had Treasure as one of my pop iTunes treasure for eight months and it still sounds as good as when I first heard it. Check out the entire album, Unorthodox Jukebox, also on iTunes if you wish to preview it. Disclaimer: Album lyrics contain explicit content.

