An admission that’s already clear to me but something that’s not so apparent to others around me is that I easily get offended. Upon further reflecting on that painful admission, I realized on a case-to-case basis I can take a joke or a light form of sarcasm (I love sarcasm myself) yet I could not count on my fingers the times I’ve been sensitive to other people’s criticism or remarks – unintentional or well-meant.

Further extracting from that idea of sensitivity, I realized that what’s harder to swallow is an unexpected criticism or remark from someone you look up to or highly respect. It’s silly, really, to get anxious over why he or she was not pleased with my comment or to receive a reply from the person you anticipate positive comment from indicating your comment was so out of this world. It feels silly but it also hurt to feel that you’re not relatable at all.

At the root of being sensitive to other’s words or opinions is the need to conform or to feel acceptance. Not that I don’t ever offend anyone, in fact I had in the past, but it bothers me when I feel offended because I was expecting to be accepted in any form.

I’ve thought of celebrities and other famous people and how they handle public criticism. Perhaps this is why I prefer to remain in the shadows because I have in my core personality a tendency to try to please as many people as possible that letting down one person automatically means I had let down the majority.

I remembered an article on Lady Gaga I read on Yahoo! Shine a few hours ago. Some people have thought that Miley Cyrus dethroned her in the outrageousness department because of Miley’s unexpected twerk fest at the recent VMAs, to which Lady Gaga replied that she was not offended by that opinion at all because she was not in any way competing with other performers. She goes on to address the rumors that her single, Applause, did not do well in the Billboard Charts since it came out two weeks ago. Gaga commented that if anyone thinks she writes songs just for the money then no one really knows her as an artist at all.

That’s a very courageous answer that gave me the impression she is as real as she gets. What I have gleaned from that example is that some public figures, well-liked or not, recognize they are nowhere close to being perfect and over time become less and less concerned with pleasing everybody. In a way it’s a highest form of respect that you honor yourself first before others. We cannot radiate joy to others if we aren’t pleased with and accepting of our selves first. I guess that’s why most of them can endure being in the public eye – because they don’t care what others think.

I am hoping that after writing this all down in a stream of consciousness that I shall have let go of feeling pathetic and shall have accepted that I cannot please everybody.

