2013 was a difficult year for me financial-wise but I also got to be my own employer and on a positive note that gave me the peace of mind my Freedom-and-Independence-craving Expression Number 5 has always been aspiring for. 2013 was a Personal Year 5 for me and being someone with a Life Path 7 who’s usually resistant to changes, it certainly was a slow and dragging progress.

As the New Year fireworks went off, I posted “Happy New Turn of The Gregorian Calendar!” to my social media accounts. Different wording, I know. It’s still hard to shake off the feeling that New Year, by earth cycle, starts in Spring and there’s a reason Aries is being read first among the 12 Zodiac signs when enumerated. Other than that, by wording it that way I am subtly implying a trend I often notice in New Year’s Resolutions online – that another Gregorian calendar year has been completed but more often than not little effort has been made on a subconscious level to attack the vicious cycle of seemingly innocuous habits.

As if to affirm that line of thought, I saw this quote right after I posted my politically correct greeting:

Desire nothing, give up all desires and be happy. ~ Swami Sivananda

I’ve realized that’s been a trend I’ve sort of adapted in the latter part of 2013. I remember excruciatingly boring conversations like still being single and wishing to travel permeating my chat box one night. I mostly retorted with a conviction that one should just aspire to be happy and let go of desires which you know at the back of your mind you can’t attain yet. It’s simple – if it doesn’t come, it’s most likely because it’s not yet the time for it and that you’re meant to focus on other areas in your life you can actively and presently be productive on until that time comes. I’m sure the Cosmic is listening, but sometimes people lack the self-knowledge necessary to be more specific. There’s often a disconnect between the person’s  subconscious programming and the wish or desire itself, which reminds me of another related quote:

Life functions within a BE-DO-HAVE paradigm. Most people have this backwards, imagining that first one must “have” things in order to “do” thinks and thus “be” what they wish to be. Reversing this process is the fastest way to experience mastery in living. ~ Neale Donald Walsch
On that note, I wish everyone enlightenment and a happy mastery in living.
