20140924_112503000_iOSI have read about the benefits of Himalayan pink salt in the past but did not seek it out in grocery stores. I can’t recall if it was during my stay in Malaysia when I first read about it briefly but then maybe I may have confused it with an article I read before about sea salt. It was only about three weeks ago when, because of serendipity I believe, that I found a small bottle with grinder of Himalayan coarse pink salt in the herbs and spices aisle at a Rustan’s store here. Off to Google search I went to look up its benefits and the next week I came back to buy it.

My main source of information about the benefits and various uses of Himalayan pink salt is from the Empowered Sustenance website. I’ve followed the steps indicated on the page to make the salt sole and I’ve also used the ground pink salt to add flavor to some meals. I can testify to its benefits as I’ve been using sole and the ground pink salt for over a month.

  1. First thing I’ve noticed the day after I tasted a pinch of the ground pink salt has to do with the hormonal balance issue. I had not had my period for a month and a half prior to taking it and was so relieved to see the brown discharge which normally precedes the actual menstruation period. I had to wait some twelve hours after to not get myself disappointed. I don’t usually miss my period and when I do it’s because of my irregular sleeping hours. Ugh.
  2. The muscle cramps mainly on my left shoulder started to ease up a bit on me. I mean it’s not as unbearable as it was before. I could even wear heeled sandals and walk in them for a few hours or so without even feeling the strain on my legs. Usually I would tire walking in any type of elevated footwear within 30 minutes to an hour so I’m quite happy with that because I love to walk long distances.
  3. My spine signals me way earlier than usual to go to sleep.
  4. I often get allergies and most cases where I sneeze and have a runny nose it’s not even the colds kind of thing that an antihistamine cannot fix. I make sure I don’t run out of my cheap and effective antihistamine every week by hoarding 10-20 tablets. Since taking salt sole first thing in the morning, I don’t consume those tablets as often as 7-10 times a week as I now get my antihistamine fix in a liquid form.
  5. Goodbye, foggy brain and less energized body.

I have not tried the Himalayan Salt Lamps and Detox Bath yet but I’m excited to!

