I did have a memorable and significant dream about ELK last night after wondering whether this month would end without him gracing my nocturnal world. I wrote about it a few hours after I woke up; it was an easy dream to trace and it was short but sweet. I could care less what it meant; my wish was fulfilled. After writing down the dream in my journal, it occurred to me there was a pattern in the dates across the significant dreams he was in. I had a dream about ELK on the days(because I get dreams during daytime nap, too)/nights of November 24th, December 24th and January 24th. I know I was told the 24th year from my 15th year would be the culmination of the “prophecy”. In the December 24th dream, the number 24 was apparent in the form of dozen eggs he purchased which miraculously doubled.

Towards dusk my insecurities surfaced and it made me reflect with a heavy heart on how the last hurdle can be even more painful it makes you want to give up. You feel like no light can shine through the difficulties you’re experiencing, including those even you created in your mind. But a courageous part of you remains strong because somehow it knows things will turn out right, you just don’t know how it will.

Case in point – I was heading to a coffee shop for coffee  while in this gloomy reverie and the line of a song I heard when I pushed the door open was, “I wanna see you be brave” from Sarah Bareilles’s song, Brave.

Never give up, thrice they told me. 

 

